Banana-Chia Pancakes

Ever since we had the blini at Sol Semilla, it left me tantalized and craving for pancakes. The other day I decided to make my own concoction to satisfy the craving. I made banana-chia pancakes. It was a simple healthy recipe that consisted of all organic ingredients: buckwheat flour, bananas, baking powder, chia seeds, maple syrup, and water.

Image

I did not have measuring cups or spoons, so I did what felt right. What is listed below is an approximation. I am used to eyeballing ingredients because making raw food entails quite a bit of that.

3 bananas, mashed

2 c buckwheat flour

2 tsp baking powder

1 tsp chia seeds, soaked in 1/3 c water, until seeds are gelatinous

1 tsp maple syrup

½ c filtered water

After mashing the bananas, I combined the other ingredients and mixed well. And voila! It was that simple, and I cooked the pancakes. I used coconut oil to grease the pan because it is stable under high heat. The output will probably vary depending on the amount of ingredients used in the batch, but I produced nine small pancakes. We consumed it with Canadian maple syrup. It was scrumptious; the texture was soft and the bananas kept the pancakes from drying.

ImageImageImage

We liked it so much we had it again the next day. If you decide to try it, bon appétit!

Signature

3 thoughts on “Banana-Chia Pancakes

Leave a Reply

