A Day in the 9th Arrondissement

The weather on Saturday was warm, humid and icky. The sun was out and what could I ask for more? Oh wait, yes, how about minus the cigarettes? Despite that though, I was in a happy mood. The sun does that to me. Anyhow, we’ve been meaning to go to the 9th arrondissement for some time now and finally did. Our day in the 9th turned out to be an awesome day, and because a sequence of events happened on Saturday, separate posts are necessary to include all or most of the pictures I’d like to share. I will make sure I post them in chronological order.

I should mention the main reason that brought us to the 9th was because we wanted to have lunch at the only raw restaurant in Paris. At first when we arrived in the neighborhood we had missed the turn to get to the joint, so instead of eating, we spent almost two hours touring the neighborhood before finding the restaurant.

We first stumbled across the only other juice establishment in Paris besides Bob’s Juice Bar. (I’m not sure if this is true, but I haven’t found any other places through research or sightseeing.) The place is called Feel Juice, and we were ecstatic to order up a couple of juices.

Image

Image

My juice: honey, lemon, orange and ginger.
Nick’s juice: orange, carrot and ginger.

Across from the juice place stood an amazing architecture of a church – Église de la Sainte-Trinité.

Image

Image

Side view of the church.

After that we walked around the area coming across Theatre de Paris and an English-speaking church. At first glance this church does not look like a church, but its structure is unique from the other buildings, and upon reading the sign on the stone wall, I learned of what it was.

Image

Image

Image

When the sightseeing was over, we window shopped but did not find anything interesting. And when I had enough of that, we decided to look for the restaurant again. I wanted a picture of the church, Église Notre-Dame-de-Lorette, earlier and came back to it as we backtracked.

Image

As I took the picture of the church, I realized that the right turn we needed to take to get to the restaurant was next to this church. Alas, we found it and made our way to one of my favorite vegan restaurants in Paris so far.

Stay tuned for tomorrow’s post regarding our experience with the restaurant and what happens next…

Image

2 thoughts on “A Day in the 9th Arrondissement

Leave a Reply

