Favorite Vegan Eats in Barcelona

Our vegan dining experience in Barcelona was pretty good. Every restaurant we ate at was delicious in its own way, but there were two places that stood out to us: Juicy Jones and Quinoa Bar Vegetaria.

Juicy Jones

Juicy Jones

Juicy Jones is conveniently located near the main tourist strip of La Rambla, and being that we frequent the area, we ate at J.J. a couple of times. This little funky psychedelic place has a great selection of juices and smoothies, and a good selection of entrees. They have two menus: one menu you’ll receive in hand, and the other is their daily specials on the chalkboard. We’ve tried items off of both menus and have been impressed by the selections.

First dining experience at Juicy Jones: Dinnertime.

I ordered the fixed menu deal for 9.50 euros: starter, entree and dessert. To start with, I had a mixed salad and carrot and beet juice.

I ordered the fixed menu deal for 9.50 euros: starter, entree and dessert. To start with, I had a mixed salad and carrot and beet juice.

For my main meal, I had a classic burger made up of a tofu patty that came with baked fries. It was delicious and the seasoning was flavorful, but it was too greasy for me.

For my main meal, I had a classic burger made up of a tofu patty that came with baked fries. It was delicious and the seasoning was flavorful, but it was too greasy and salty for me.

Nick had a milkshake not shown: soy milk, pear and vanilla. His main meal was a Mexican burger. He was really impressed and thought it was scrumptious.

Nick had a milkshake not shown: soy milk, pear and vanilla. His main meal was a Mexican burger. He was really impressed and thought it was scrumptious.

For desserts…

I had chocolate cake with a sweet tomato sauce on top. It was interesting and not bad, but also not my favorite.

I had chocolate cake with a sweet tomato sauce on top. It was interesting and not bad, but not my favorite.

Nick's apple crumble, which he raved about. I tried it and it was indeed yummy.

Nick’s apple crumble, which he raved about. I tried it and it was indeed yummy. It was better than my chocolate cake.

Second dining experience at Juicy Jones: Lunchtime. I’d have to say lunchtime for me was even better.

After sharing a mixed green salad with Nick, I had a pumpkin casserole with a small salad and cooked fennel. My only gripe was that I like the taste of fennel better raw.

After sharing a mixed green salad with Nick, I had a pumpkin casserole with a small salad and cooked fennel. This meal was exceptionally tasty, and no oiliness and salt overload like my last meal. My only gripe was that I like the taste of fennel better raw.

Nick had the same milkshake as last time, and this tasty bocadillo or sandwich: avocado, greens and sun-dried tomatoes.

Nick had the same milkshake as last time, and this tasty bocadillo or sandwich: avocado, greens and sun-dried tomatoes.

When we were in the Gracia neighborhood, we visited Quinoa Bar Vegetaria for lunch.

Quinoa Bar Vegetaria, a tiny rustic place operated by the owner.

Quinoa Bar Vegetaria, a tiny rustic place operated by only the owner.

I had a raw zucchini pasta salad: zucchini, cherry tomatoes, beets, and marcona almonds over a bed of spinach. Super yummy!

I had a raw vegan zucchini pasta salad: zucchini, cherry tomatoes, beets, and marcona almonds over a bed of spinach. Super yummy!

My main meal was a vegan polenta quiche, with Mediterranean-style salad. This meal was so delicious. It may have been my favorite meal on the trip.

My main meal was a vegan polenta quiche, with a Mediterranean-style salad. This meal was so delicious. It may have been my favorite meal on the trip.

Nick's 'essence' salad: hummus, avocado, carrots, red onion, beets, tomatoes and walnuts. He deemed it tasty.

Nick’s ‘essence’ salad: hummus, avocado, carrots, red onion, beets, tomatoes and walnuts. He deemed it tasty.

Nick's main meal, a bean burger with potato 'chips'. He thought it was one of the best burgers he's ever had.

Nick’s main meal, a bean burger with potato ‘chips’. He thought it was one of the best burgers he’s ever had.

Now that you have a visual sample of the foods from both places, check them out if you’re interested. Juicy Jones is 100% vegan, but Quinoa Bar Vegetaria is a mix of vegetarian and vegan; however, the vegan items are clearly labeled.

Happy Dining!

Signature

