El Cafe

El Cafe is the only restaurant in Barcelona that has raw options, and I knew I had to go sample what they had. I was curious to know how the raw scene was in this city.

IMG_8629

As we entered the small restaurant, the place had the essence scent of ‘newness’ to it. It sure looked new and had a modern rustic design and green vibe to it. The lighting of the place had a muted yellowish tone to it, making the photos of the food I took appear ochre. Right away I liked the feel and look to this simple place. The staff was friendly and the chef prepared the food in the kitchen that was within eye view from where we were sitting: We saw how everything was prepared — fresh with good quality ingredients.

The menu has a selection of raw vegan, cooked vegan, and vegetarian; all ingredients are organic. I went for mostly raw, and Nick went for mostly cooked as he wasn’t feeling the raw options they provided.

Pea and onion soup. We both had this delicious starter to warm us up from the cold.

Pea and onion soup. We each had this delicious starter to warm us up from the cold.

El Cafe's Raw Pizza. It's different and less like any raw pizzas I've tasted, but very delicious. I didn't appreciate the added oil for garnishing, but I did appreciate the crust not being made up of mostly nuts and seeds. I believe it was made up of buckwheat as it was soft and flimsy. It was very good and tasted a lot like phyllo dough.

El Cafe’s Raw Pizza. It’s different and less like any raw pizza I’ve tasted but very delicious. I didn’t appreciate the added oil for garnishing, but I did appreciate the crust not being made up of mostly nuts and seeds. Instead, I believe it was made up of buckwheat and tasted a lot like phyllo dough.

Nick had a sandwich with smoked tofu, greens, sprouts, and eggplant. It was very tasty as well.

Nick had a sandwich with smoked tofu, greens, sprouts, and eggplants. It was very tasty as well.

For desserts…

I had a raw carrot cake. It was good, but nothing special. I like my raw carrot cake better.

I had a raw carrot cake. It was good, but nothing special. I like my raw homemade carrot cake better.

Nick's dessert was a fresh-baked brownie with raw banana ice cream. It was pretty good. I might have liked his dessert a little better than mine.

Nick’s dessert was a fresh-baked brownie with raw banana ice cream. It was pretty good. I might have liked his dessert a little better than mine.

Signature

