Gracias Madre and Planet Raw

I would have had picturesque aerial views of LA to share on this post, a hike we had planned on doing at Runyon Canyon on Saturday, but that didn’t happen because I sprained my ankle pretty bad, tearing my ligament on Friday from doing a cardio workout. The loud snap Nick and I heard before I fell down made us suspect it was a broken ankle, but thank goodness it wasn’t. Instead, it was the sound of the ligament snapping when I rolled my ankle out. Now all that anticipation of trail running, hiking and mountain biking is on hold for months. I look at my brand new mountain bike that I have not yet ridden with sadness, frustrated about the whole situation. I am on crutches and wearing a splint until I can put pressure on my foot. I’m hoping to do some therapy to help with the healing process so I can get back to my extracurricular activities without too many problems. In the meantime, my new nickname is ‘gimpy’ and we’re now taking the opportunity to do other activities that doesn’t require too much mobility.

On another subject, we woke up predawn today to an earthquake. The bed shook, the walls pounded, the wood creaked, and the closet doors rattled for what seemed like seconds. Although only a fraction of a second felt longer when you’re woken up abruptly like that. It was a 4.4 magnitude quake, and I’m glad it was no more serious than what we experienced. If it had been, I would have been in trouble with my gimpy self.

Now back to Saturday… After the hike that we would have done in LA, we had plans to meet our new friend Marty, who we had met in Paris, for lunch at Gracias Madre. Gracias Madre is a new organic vegan Mexican restaurant over in West Hollywood on Melrose. The restaurant uses fresh ingredients and make everything in-house. We all enjoyed our meals: It was delicious and well-executed. If you like Mexican food, you will like Gracias Madre. You don’t have to be vegan to enjoy this place. Nick and I would definitely return to try the other dishes we had contemplated.

I had the Tamal Mijado style. The tamale had a kind of spicy sauce on top, drizzled with cashew cream. Yum.

I had the Tamal, Mijado style. The tamale had a kind of spicy sauce on top, drizzled with cashew cream. Yum.

Nick had the Flautas. Sweet potatoes were wrapped inside the corn tortillas and garnished with pico de gallo and cashew cream.

Nick had the Flautas. Sweet potatoes were wrapped inside the corn tacos and garnished with pico de gallo, cilantro and cashew nacho cheese.

Marty ordered El Plato, the plate that had a bit of everything: butternut squash, cashew nacho cheese, rice, escabeche, chorizo mushrooms, cilantro pesto, pico de gallo, and beans. This also came with fresh corn tortilla, which tasted so amazing.

Marty ordered El Plato, the plate that had a bit of everything: butternut squash, cashew nacho cheese, rice, escabeche, chorizo mushrooms, cilantro pesto, pico de gallo, and beans. This also came with fresh corn tortilla, which tasted so amazing.

Then for desserts, we decided to go up a couple blocks to Juliano’s Raw (aka Planet Raw). Yes, it’s a raw (vegan) restaurant as you could probably tell by the name. We sat outside, enjoying mid-eighty degrees weather in the shade. And after checking out the menu, Nick and I realized we would have to return for a meal. Everything looked so good off the menu, and Marty likes what he regularly orders from Planet Raw.

The desserts we had were delicious, but we all agreed the desserts at Euphoria in Santa Monica is better. And I probably favored the chocolate desserts the guys had better than my strawberry ‘cheesecake’.

My pick: 'strawberry cheesecake'

My pick: ‘strawberry cheesecake’

Nick's chocolate mousse

Nick’s chocolate mousse

Marty's chocolate 'cheesecake'

Marty’s chocolate ‘cheesecake’

When we return to Planet Raw for some raw food, I’ll report the details… But, do check out Gracias Madre for some delicious Mexican food if you’re in the area.

Signature

5 thoughts on “Gracias Madre and Planet Raw

  1. Ouch! It is not fun to be on crutch. At least it was not the ankle snap. Hope you recover soon!
    The LA quake is another story. Nice decor to the dishes!

Leave a Reply

