Cafe Gratitude Venice

IMG_3071

In the eclectic neighborhood of Venice, where you’ll discover an interesting mix of people, we ate at the second hottest vegan restaurant next to Real Food Daily. Cafe Gratitude is 100% organic and vegan with two locations, the other one situated on Larchmont Blvd of LA. This was another one of Marty’s recommendations, and we were grateful for it. We liked this place just as much as RFD and will surely return.

As we opened the door and stepped into the restaurant just before dinnertime, the hubbub of people welcomed us with a lively atmosphere. Good-looking workers of Cafe Gratitude wore moss-green v-neck t-shirts that had LO E printed in front, with the letter V not printed in white but left off and implied with their v-neck lines.

We were impressed with our meals at CG. The flavor and execution of the dishes were done well and were very creative. They have a decent selection of food on their menu, and on top of the menu you’ll find: I AM…

IMG_3076

All of their dishes are named with adjectives. For instance, I ordered Happy. Nick ordered Humble. However, being new to CG, we did not order correctly. When the waitress took our orders, she repeated and said to us, “You are happy. You are humble.” And before she left us, she gave us a question to ponder: “What is clarity?” Then when we were served, I was told: “You are happy.” In fact, I am happy, I thought to myself. Nick was told, “You are humble.” And then bon appetite, we ate our delicious meals. On every plate of food, you’ll find the question “What are you grateful for?” after you’re done eating. We thought the environment was fun combined with the great food. The only other thing that could have topped it off was spotting another vegan celebrity. CG is known to have celebrities dining there quite frequently, but we didn’t see one that day. Marty told us he went there previously one night for dinner and saw Beyonce and JayZ. We didn’t get lucky this time.

I AM HAPPY: My raw wrap was magnificent and so tasty. It’s definitely one of the best raw dishes I have had. Maybe not the number one best, but it’s up there.

Seasonal raw wrap made with flax seeds, zucchini, sundried tomatoes, and apples, filled with an apple curry, almond pate, arugula, fennel, apple, avocado, whole grain mustard, and cashew aioli. Served with salad.

Seasonal raw wrap made with flax seeds, zucchini, sun-dried tomatoes, and apples, filled with an apple curry, almond pate, arugula, fennel, apple, avocado, whole grain mustard, and cashew aioli. Served with salad.

I AM HUMBLE: Nick’s lentil curry dish had wonderful flavors, and he raved about how it may be the best vegan dish he has had out.

Indian lentil curry over a mix of brown rice and quinoa, accompanied with roasted yams, spinach, mint chutney and tamarind sauce, and topped with scallions.

Indian lentil curry over a mix of brown rice and quinoa, accompanied with roasted yams, spinach, mint chutney and tamarind sauce, and topped with scallions.

Yes, impressed diners we were. When it came to desserts, Nick had ordered a brownie sundae again (I AM SURRENDERING); however, although good, it was nowhere close to being as yummy as Real Food Daily’s Brownie Bowl.

IMG_3083

I was I AM IRRESISTIBLE. Even though it was what I wanted, I felt a little timid saying, “I am irresistible,” as I ordered correctly this time around. I later regretted the decision when I saw the strawberry meringue float by. That looked more irresistible to me than my chocolate coconut cream pie. The raw coconut pie was good, but it was too fatty for my liking and I couldn’t finish it all. The flavor was a little too bland for me as well, and after seeing the strawberry meringue pie, which was my first decision, I only yearned for that. I will definitely have to try it next time.

IMG_3081

We liked Cafe Gratitude a lot. Go in and see what you are for the day… What are you grateful for?

Signature

 

 

7 thoughts on “Cafe Gratitude Venice

  1. you’re more likely to spot a vegan celebrity at the cafe gratitude on larchmont or the real food daily on la cienega…it was a late lunch at larchmont when beyonce took jay-z there for his birthday…the real food bargain (with house dressing) at real food daily and the “i am whole” macro bowl at cafe gratitude (with a side of eggplant) are the dishes i am most grateful for…glad to see you guys are enjoying your vegan explorations in LA…thanks for those mouth watering photos and descriptions…the red enchilada and chocolate superfood pie at euphorialovesrawvolution also deserve a spot on your plant based food map…and hopefully that ankle injury will soon heal so you can survey the panoramic LA universe from the top of runyon canyon…because when you’re healthy, you are sitting on top of the world!

    • Ah, so it’s the Larchmont one! We happened to be closer to the Venice one, thus our visit. Next time we will have to try the other one. We did get lucky with RFD, though. We saw Anthony Kiedis two weekends back. Thanks for sharing these places with us. They are our new faves now. I do have my eyes on the red enchilada at Euphoria, so we’ll have to go back for that soon. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Santa Cruz | LivingOutsideTheBox

Leave a Reply

