A New Hobby

A couple of good things have come out of this ankle injury: I’ve formed a new novel idea that sticks and I’m deep into writing my supernatural horror YA book, spending six hours a day on it during week days. Second, I’ve picked up a new hobby: amigurumi. The one to two hours that I would usually spend working out is now spent crocheting. For those of you who don’t know what amigurumi is, it is a Japanese art form of crocheting rounded stuffed animals. One day browsing the internet I came upon one of these cute characters knitted by someone. I instantly wanted to learn so I taught myself and had Nick take me to Joann Fabrics to buy the materials needed. And voila! I can crochet! Of course, my first project wasn’t the best, but I now have found my own style and have the hang of it. I’m finding this to be so addictive and fun. Pretty soon I will have a collection of stuffed animals. And I do have a lineup of animals I am making for friends and family as gifts. Currently, I am working on a secret project for my friend Pui, as her birthday is just around the corner. I’ll share the post after she receives her gift. In the meantime, I’ll post other accomplished knits when I have finished.

My first project: Howie the Penguin

IMG_3016

My second project: Jonathan the Bee

IMG_3086

Stay tuned for more cuties!

Signature

Leave a Reply

