A Night at The Queen Mary

DSC00399

Nick and I joined the many people in costumes on Halloween night. We first went out for dinner at Real Food Daily in West Hollywood where the Halloween spirit was in abundance.

DSC00419

When we arrived at Queen Mary for the night, the place was livelier than ever. Many wore costumes and were at Queen Mary for The Dark Harbor, a Halloween event happening right next to the ship.

DSC00417

DSC00408

We were there to stay overnight and participate in a paranormal investigation. The four-and-a-half hours investigation started at 11 P.M. and I was already yawning for bed. In spite of this, we pushed through the night in anticipation to be in touch with the spirits of the old ship. Unfortunately, we didn’t feel anything or experience anything paranormal while on the investigation.

Our lead investigators, Steve Huff and Matt Schulz, had compelling evidence to share with us from previous investigations they’d conducted on the ship. I was hoping to obtain EVP, electronic voice phenomenon–disembodied voices heard on the recorder but not with the ear–on my recorder at the least, but that didn’t happen. Neither did we capture anything on our full spectrum camera.

DSC00407

Roaming the halls of B deck

We returned to our room on B deck, which I had requested because it’s the most haunted floor for the state rooms.

Room B340, permanently closed off to guests because there were too many guest and cleaning staff paranormal experiences. A guy had died in that room some time ago.

Room B340, permanently closed off to guests because there were too many guest and cleaning staff paranormal experiences. A guy had died in that room some time ago.

Having not experienced anything on the investigation, I had an unexpected chilling experience in our room early in the morning. We went to bed right after the investigation. We were tired; it was way past our bedtime. Nick passed out immediately as he hit the pillow. It took me some time because for some reason I became alert laying in bed. Finally when I had just fallen asleep, a loud thump like someone had just slammed into the wall woke me up. Alert again, I knew it was no other guest as it was five in the morning and there were no other noises that followed. Few minutes later, the empty paper bag to our to-go treats from Real Food Daily had been moved on the table nearby. I recognized that sound of a paper bag being crumpled like when you go to pick it up, then I heard it slide on the table. I knew it was inside our room. I heard it loud and clear, and I remember Matt saying that if we put our recorders out we could hear voices, stuff being moved, the sound of children. I didn’t have my recorder out, but I heard it with my own ears. My heart raced and I lay stiff, unable to open my eyes. All of the activity was happening on my side of the room and I waited for things to quiet down as I shivered uncontrollably underneath the covers from the chill I encountered. When the noise dissipated, the light of my Lady-Comp lit up in the pitch black room. I had it next to me on a pillow and was facing it. It had turned on by itself and I dared not open my eyes. Then, another sound of the paper bag crumpling happened again and finally I turned towards Nick and pawed at him, waking him. After that episode it was quiet again, and I was exhausted. I managed to fall asleep and later in the morning at check-out time, I noticed that our paper bag was in its normal spot: untouched, unmoved.

Although I was disappointed I didn’t capture any evidence on the investigation, I was ready to leave at check-out. I can’t explain what I experienced in the room, and I really should have investigated it, but it caught me off guard and my tools were left on the table. However, I knew a presence was in the room. I felt it. If you’ve ever experienced anything paranormal, you just know. I just wished I could have captured it. But this is the reality of ghost hunting: you don’t always experience something; things can happen unexpectedly; and not everything can be captured on devices. Sometimes all you have is your own experience to tell.

This was a test picture I took of our room in the dark before the investigation with my full spectrum camera. A full spectrum camera means that it has the ability to capture infrared and ultraviolet light, which is not visible to the human eyes. You can see the paper bag on the table there, which is where the source of the sounds I heard came from. Also, the picture shows the blinds opened, but that was closed when we went to sleep.

This was a test picture I took of our room in the dark before the investigation with my full spectrum camera. A full spectrum camera means that it has the ability to capture infrared and ultraviolet light, which is not visible to the human eyes. You can see the paper bag on the table there, which is where the source of the sounds I heard came from. Also, the picture shows the blinds opened, but that was closed when we went to sleep.

Signature

2 thoughts on “A Night at The Queen Mary

  1. Pingback: A Night out with a Forensic Psychologist | Living Outside The Box

Leave a Reply

