Book People

I love books. And I love that Austin downtown has an awesome local bookstore. Being a book person, I knew I had to visit Book People right away. In a lot across the street from Whole Foods Market, Book People neighbors REI and Anthropologie. We visited on a cold misty day — a perfect day to spend inside looking at books and staying warm and dry.

On the first floor, there is a cafe in the back. To our surprise the cafe is vegan friendly, serving vegan tamales and empanadas. Having already eaten, I ordered a vegan Mexican hot chocolate to warm up my cold hands. For $2, it was a deal and so yummy.

Nick and I split ways: him spending time in the vegan cookbook section reading up on ancient grains, while I climbed the stairs to the second floor in search of the Young Adult section. With the section all to myself, I perused the Horror/Sci-Fi section as an author reading took place nearby.

Austin’s new vegan guide: A complete list of vegan friendly places for locals and visitors.

After spending over an hour, I left with a copy of House of Ivy and Sorrow and a souvenir mug of Austin/Book People. This bookstore is great and I love how they house many appealing events there. Just in a couple of weeks, authors Emily Giffin and Harlan Coben will appear on separate dates for book signing.

If you love books and are visiting Austin, I’d recommend stopping by. They also have all sorts of local authors’ books in stock, along with many quirky toys and gadgets for the house.

Signature

6 thoughts on “Book People

  1. other books for your list…john fante’s ask the dust…ken kesey’s sometimes a great notion….pablo coelho’s the alchemist….john steinbeck’s east of eden…harper lee’s go set a watchman (the to kill a mockingbird sequel)….

    • Ever since I’ve learned about the sequel to To Kill A Mockingbird, I’ve been waiting for it. However, it will be a long while before I get to it. And besides, I want to refresh my memory and reread To Kill A Mockingbird. I haven’t read it in 8 years!

Leave a Reply

