New England Part II: Springfield, MA Light Show

One of my favorite things about Christmas season is the light show. I love the bright colors and illumination against winter’s dark nights. And if there’s a light show, you can bet I’ll be heading that way. Thus, on our last night we ventured out to Massachusetts for the area’s annual light show in Forest Park of Springfield. It also happens to be where Nick and his parents had once lived when he was five years old.

Before the light show we had dinner at Bela Vegetarian Restaurant. It’s a tiny joint in downtown Northampton just 15 miles north of Springfield in an academic, artistic, musical, and countercultural hub. The service and food were good at Bela, but Nick and I favored 21 Oak better for its food. However, Bela’s dessert was more delicious. Again, I didn’t want to seem like I was attached to my phone, so I saved my picture for the yummy dessert, which was an apple walnut cake drizzled with a caramel sauce. This came out warm, and Nick and I devoured it down with ear-to-ear grins. It was so good! The highlight of Bela was definitely our dessert. Though the food was good as well, it just couldn’t top what we enjoyed at 21 Oak the previous night. If you’re ever in Northampton, it’s a great place to check out. And I would definitely recommend Bela — if not for the food, definitely for their desserts!

Signature

One thought on “New England Part II: Springfield, MA Light Show

Leave a Reply

