TAG: Places where…

Screen Shot 2016-06-22 at 12.21.49 PM

I’ve been nominated for the first time for a TAG from Lisa at From Dream to Plan. This was originally created in Italian, hence the name of the picture, but Lisa translated for her nominees. And because this nomination pertains to travel, I thought it would be fun to participate in because I love and live for travel. I want to thank Lisa for the opportunity, and I recommend checking out her blog for her sojourns and travels!

The rules are:
1. Cite the creator of the tag: Una Vita Non Basta.
2. Insert the tag picture in the post.
3. Answer the 10 questions.
4. Nominate 10 bloggers, in particular who loves traveling, and advise them about the nomination.
5. Use the tag “ipostichetag” when publishing the post.
6. Cite the creator of the blog as 11th (or last) in your nomination list.

Here are my answers to the 10 questions:

CITE A PLACE…

1. …YOU ALWAYS BRING WITH YOU
I’m not sure about this one, but I guess I’d have to say Seattle. This is where I was born and raised and had lived at for 30 years before leaving family and giving up my career in science to become a nomadic writer. Seattle will always be with me. I have so much good (and some bad) memories there, and I always feel nostalgic of the place wherever my sojourn takes me. Even though I’m not sure if I’ll ever live there again, the city will always be with me.

2. …WHERE YOU HAD FUN
I’ve had fun at so many places we’ve visited, so this is really tough to name just one place. (I have to say right now that most of my answers will not be just one place.) I’m going to base this decision on best fun memories and adventures, which I’m sure the list will only grow as we continue to travel and move around some more: London and Salisbury, Maui, Fiji, Rome, Berlin and Laos.

3. …WHICH TOUCHED YOU
Berlin and Amsterdam because of the sad history there. Laos, because the people there live a simple life and they’re happy. I learned so much there about the culture of where my parents had once lived in when they were young. It was an eye-opener and had truly touched me in a positive way.

4. …WHICH DISAPPOINTED YOU
Brussels. Nick and I had our bag stolen from us and one of the guys pulled a knife at him. This was all out in public with many witnesses, but no one bothered to help. This was also towards the end of our Europe trip, and our camera was taken so we lost all of our pictures from previous countries we had traveled to. And it also happened to be Nick’s birthday. Thus, the experience put a damper on our spirits. Furthermore, we were verbally attacked at and yelled at by a cab driver because we didn’t realize where we wanted to go to was too close for him to drive to. There were a couple of other things we didn’t like, which I won’t go into, but this was the worst experience we had while visiting a place. We likely won’t return to Brussels again, but I’m still interested in visiting other parts of Belgium like Bruges and Antwerp; however, they aren’t at the top of my list.

5. …WHICH SURPRISED YOU
Barcelona. I wasn’t sure what to expect the first time we visited the city, but a lot of things surprised me about the place. The city is very walkable. We walked everywhere without using the metro or cab. I like that it has mild weather in the winter and is sunny a lot. I also like that the beach is close to the city center, and I just love Gaudi’s work of art with all the buildings he designed. Lastly, the fruit! Being a fruit lover, I didn’t expect to see so much good fruit, including tropical ones, there. And, I’m happy to say we will be spending 3 months there after our sojourn in London. 🙂

6. …WHERE YOU HAVE TASTY MEMORIES
So many places! London, Berlin, Barcelona, Amsterdam, California, Maui, and Portland, Oregon.

7. …WHERE YOU LIVED A MEMORABLE MOMENT
Berlin. We loved it so much there that I wouldn’t be surprised if we return. And also, Nice and Paris. I can’t say all the memories were good, but whether good or bad, the memories were truly memorable and quite the experience.

8. …WHERE YOU LIVED A ROMANTIC MOMENT
Nanuya Island in Fiji.

9. …YOU’D LIKE TO GO BACK TO
Fiji, Laos, Germany, Italy, and Hawaii. I think it’s actually our goal to settle in Hawaii somewhere and make it home base for us someday.

10. …YOU’D LIKE TO GO
Our list is long, but currently the places that are at the top of my list and which we won’t make it to soon are: Maldives, Thailand and Nepal.

I am only following 7 travel bloggers, so I can’t nominate a total of 10. Below are my nominees (including the creator), but it’s up to them if they want to participate!

Borderless Louise
The Japanese Traveler
The Adventures of Miss Miral
Traveling the World Solo
Gamin Traveler
The Sophomore Slump
Gallivance
Una Vita Non Basta

7 thoughts on “TAG: Places where…

  1. Thank you for taking part to the contest Angie! It has been really interesting reading and having an overview about your travels! 🙂

  2. Dame, you’ve been to so many places!!! I’m so glad we didn’t have the same experience when we were in Brussels. And I’m surprised with your choice of the place which surprised you. 😀
    Thank you for my inclusion. I will definitely answer to this.

    • Yeah, the whole experience at Brussels sucked. I had no expectations of Barcelona, so I think that’s why it surprised me. I ended up liking the place a lot.
      Thanks for participating, and I can’t wait to read your answers!

  3. Pingback: SECALP « The Sophomore Slump

Leave a Reply

