Covent Garden and Neal’s Yard

Covent Garden in the heart of London is never a bore to visit. The district has so much to offer with bars, shops, museums, theaters, nightlife and more. With its close proximity to Soho and Chinatown, you can easily wander and explore in those areas as well. On this visit, we shopped around and visited Lola’s Cupcakes before exploring Neal’s Yard.

Lola’s Cupcakes has multiple shops around the city. It’s not vegan, but they do offer a few vegan options. I snatched up their popular vegan flavor, Coconut Passion Fruit, for a naughty snack. It was scrumptious, but I don’t think I’ll be going out of my way to find Lola’s in the city. I like my cupcakes yummy, but I’ve become a bit of a cupcake snob and gravitate towards ‘healthier’ ones.

Neal’s Yard is tucked away in a short alley. As you enter, the spot opens up to a courtyard. Surrounded by vibrant colors and plant life, the food options include a couple of vegan restaurants, a popular pizza spot, a French restaurant and a couple other cafes. There’s also Neal’s Yard Remedy, an organic skin care shop that offers massages as well. We perused a little bit before having dinner at Wild Food Cafe, a mostly raw vegan restaurant upstairs.

This pizza place offers monstrous size pizzas for sharing. It looked very good and enticing.

Wild Food Cafe has great reviews and when we went it was busy as usual. We didn’t get a chance to try the place on our last visit, so the visit was due.

Nick ordered the sushi and baked sweet potato. He was feeling adventurous, because he’s not a sushi fan. And neither am I. I almost got the same thing, but I’m glad I didn’t. Turned out the nori was pretty strong. I couldn’t help him out, so he slowly ate his meal down. He said aside from the nori, the stuffings of young coconut, jalapeno carrots, cucumber and avocado were pretty good and helped mask the nori flavor a little bit.

For me, I tried their new raw burger. It’s called The Greatest Burger of All Time. Although good, I have to disagree with this name. My favorite raw burger was from Inspiral Lounge on our last visit to London but sadly they have closed down in Camden Town. Wild Food Cafe’s version doesn’t compare to Inspiral’s, but I get what they’re trying to do. It’s different. The patty is made up of olives, shiitake and root vegetables, served with pineapple salsa and raw breadfruit bun. The burger came with a side of salad, akee-coconut fysh and baked sweet potato as well. I really enjoyed the akee-coconut a lot. The flavor was refreshing and good. That was my favorite thing of the dish. The burger patty was good but not impressive. My least favorite thing was the breadfruit bun. It was too sweet, which made for a sweet burger instead of savory like how I wanted. Also, I felt a half bun was sufficient enough. The whole thing was just too much. I ended up chucking half of it because the sweet flavor and seediness texture were all too much for me.

Surprisingly, we were both really full after our meal. I had plans on getting dessert, but we’ll have to go back for that another day. Overall, it’s not our favorite raw restaurant, but I’m willing to give them another chance because the quality of the food is there. The service was great as well, and I have a feeling they might wow us with their desserts.

Heading into Soho, where we discovered Herman Ze German. It’s a curry wurst joint that offers a couple of vegan options as well.

Signature

4 thoughts on “Covent Garden and Neal’s Yard

  1. next time at the wild food cafe, try the ayurvedic super salad and the raw chocolate tart…you won’t be disappointed! i got a tinge of the homesick blues seeing your lovely photos of neal’s yard….

Leave a Reply

