Part I, Niagara Trip: Niagara-on-the-Lake

After leaving Toronto, we spent four days in Niagara area, staying in the small and quaint town of Niagara-on-the-Lake. Besides its charm, this cute town has a lot of history and is known for its wineries and theater productions.

We enjoyed the laid-back vibe and though it is quite touristy, the place is attractive. We spent a short time here, but I could easily see spending the summer mingling away with the locals. I found the place mysterious and spellbinding. Perhaps it is the history and the ghost stories since the town is known to be the most haunted town in Canada, and my imagination runs wild with small town ghost stories. I have a few stories from the locals about the hauntings and history around town, but I’ll save that for a future post — a Halloween edition.

Along the main street of the town, on Queen Street, the sidewalks are lined with trees, flowers and old establishments. Each building has so much character, and it’s hard not to stop and look because you just know there’s an interesting story behind each place. Even the houses and the myriad of bed and breakfast establishments are charming and inviting.

This picture below doesn’t do it justice, but this Starbucks is my favorite one I’ve seen so far during our travels. The cafe feels homey and is unique in that it feels nothing like a typical Starbucks.

At Queen’s Royal Park, the walkway along the lake makes for a peaceful walk. Across the river, you can see Toronto afar. The outline of the city appears as if it’s within reach, but the distance apart is 82 miles or 132 km away.

Near the lake, Fort George was built by the British to defend against American attacks. But what is visible from the park across the river is Fort Niagara, located in New York. Looking out towards the Old Fort felt so close yet so far away from home, or stateside.

Queen’s Royal Park is also a popular sight to witness the many ducks showing off their cute fuzzy bottoms. It’s such a silly sight, but people love it. My favorite thing about the park is that it’s a superb spot to watch the sunset.

We had a wonderful and relaxing time at Niagara-on-the-Lake, and I would highly recommend visiting or staying here while visiting Niagara Falls.

3 thoughts on “Part I, Niagara Trip: Niagara-on-the-Lake

  1. We took the back roads around the great lakes starting from Ohio through Michigan through Canada to Niagara Falls when I was a kid. I remember practically ever thing about the drive more than I did about the water falls. Everything about Canada is really cool and if I could I would move there now.

    “The Guy” has a pretty good grip on you in the picture, it’s understandable. 🙂

    • Canada is definitely scenic. The land is so vast and different when you’re in a new area. I wouldn’t mind living in Canada, either, but it is nice we Americans can visit for a duration of 6 months a year.

      Lol. 14 years together, I would hope he still has a good grip on me. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Part III, Niagara Trip: Vegan Eats | Living Outside The Box

Leave a Reply

